Compy 8

Compy 8

9th Nov 2008

Please enjoy Compy 8, another lovingly crafted compilation of my favourite music of recent weeks.

If you read my most recent music round-up you'll know how much I like Reaktor by autokratz, particularly as the opening track to their debut album, so no prizes for guessing where that tracks comes in Compy 8. This is swiftly followed by a fairly new band called City Reverb, who are Chris Coco and Micky Buccheri. They mix electronic music with live instrumentation, and the version here is Trevor Loveys Vocal Mix which is brilliant.

A stonking instrumental with the best farty bassline ever from (another) new band, Destroy Disco, maintains the up vibe before the invincible Fake Blood turns in another classic remix, this time of Dan Le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip's Look For The Woman. Great stuff. Then we have Hannah Holland's mix of VV Brown's Crying Blood and the the first of two Sebastien Tellier tracks, both remixed. We've got the Boys Noize reworking of L'amour et la violence first which fits well between the VV Brown track and the melancholic Heartsong, my favourite track from the recent Rex The Dog album.

Everyone's (rightfully) raving about the Crookers remix of Kid Cudi's Day 'N' Nite but I actually prefer the original, especially that slowed-down vocal near the end. Sebastien Tellier returns with Sexual Sportswear remixed by Donovan (no, not that Donovan but this Donovan). The last two tracks are again favourites from recent albums, Remember Love by Noze and Unrequited Love by Gonzales, both employing piano to great effect.

  1. autoKratz - Reaktor (3:48)
  2. City Reverb - City Of Lights (Trevor Loveys Vocal Mix) (5:13)
  3. Destroy Disco - Roll On By (5:26)
  4. Dan Le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip - Look For The Woman (Fake Blood Remix) (5:08)
  5. VV Brown - Crying Blood (Hannah Holland Remix) (5:31)
  6. Sebastien Tellier - L'amour et la violence (Boys Noize Remix) (5:51)
  7. Rex The Dog - Heartsong (2:22)
  8. Kid Cudi - Day 'N' Nite (3:43)
  9. Sebastien Tellier - Sexual Sportswear (Donovan Remix) (5:19)
  10. Noze - Remember Love (5:16)
  11. Gonzales - Unrequited Love (4:11)

Download Compy 8. 71MB and 51mins. Enjoy and let me know what you think.

NB. Only the most recent three compies will be available for download, anything older gets deleted from the servers. Grab The Letter RSS feed to catch the latest mixes.